Video file
Scientific Committee

Putting the world’s best minds on cancer’s greatest challenges

Identifying the greatest challenges and daring global teams to find solutions.

Cancer Grand Challenges is guided by our Scientific Committee and receives input from our Advocacy Panel to ensure those affected by cancer are positively impacted by the research we do.

Chaired by Nobel laureate Sir Paul Nurse, the Scientific Committee comprises eminent scientists from a diverse range of fields. They provide input at each step of the funding process, from working with scientists and advocates from around the world to identify the challenges, to assessing applications from the global teams who propose bold new approaches to tackle them. All final decisions are made by CRUK and NCI as joint funding partners.

With each member providing a different perspective on how to approach some of cancer’s most complex challenges, our Scientific Committee unites a diversity of experience and expertise to drive progress in a way that would be near-impossible with a narrow view of the world.

Learn more about how we work with advocates to embed the patient perspective across Cancer Grand Challenges.

Sir Paul Nurse (Chair), PhD, FRS, FMedSci, HonFREng, HonFBA, MAE
Professor René Bernards, PhD
Professor Suzanne Cory, PhD, AC, FAA, FRS
Professor Judy E Garber, MD, PhD
Professor Edward E Harlow, PhD
Professor David Hunter, MBBS, ScD, FRACPHM
Professor Nic Jones, PhD, FMedSci
Professor Sir David Lane, PhD, FRS, FRSE
Professor Crystal Mackall, MD
 Professor Jill P Mesirov, PhD
Professor Barbara K Rimer, DrPH
Professor Charles Swanton, MD, PhD, FRS, FMedSci, FRCP
Professor Karen Vousden, CBE, PhD, FRS, FRSE, FMedSci